Balconiers’ 45th Annual ‘End of Season’ Glamorgan Players Awards Dinner

The Story of the Evening

John Williams opened the evening offering a warm welcome to everyone especially our Sponsors and The Glamorgan Players and Staff

John Williams -Chairman Welcomes the Guests
A packed crowd enjoying the 45th Annual Awards Night
01.10.18 – Glamorgan Balconiers End of Season Awards –

The First Award was made to our partner Charity which this year was The  Lymphoma Leukaemia Myeloma Fund (Wales), we raised £1800 and below Allan Gray presents the Cheque to The Chair Karen Shreeve  and Secretary Susan Evans

Allan Gray presents the Cheque for £1800 to Karen and Susan

The Milestone Awards  were then presented to the  recipients as follows-to KIRAN CARLSON in recognition of  his 4th Wicket Partnership  of 289 with Usman Khawaja The highest for any wicket in County Cricket v Derbyshire CCC in 2018. To RUAIDHRI SMITH  in recognition of  his   Career best return  in T20 of 4 for 6 v Middlesex CCC at Richmond-The Best Ever economy rate in T20 by a Glamorgan CCC player,to TIMM VAN DER GUGTEN for his Career best bowling performance of 7 – 42 against Kent in Cardiff on May 4 and 5th -2018 and to MICHAEL HOGAN for taking his 300th wicket for Glamorgan on June 2018 at St Helen’s Swansea

Professor Peter Stead presents KIRAN with his Award
Philip Evans Harold Arnold Solicitors presents RUAIDHRI with his Award
Huw Rees Cwmtwrch presents TIMM ‘s Award to Graham Wagg
Robert Francis-Davies presents Michael with his Milestone Award
Edward Cooper presents USMAN’s Award to Robert Croft

The Balconiers then made a donation of £500 to the PCA Development Fund following the Bicycle Ride led by Dan Cherry. They also presented Edward Bevan with a Gift Voucher in recognition of his services at our Awards Dinner over two decades and ongoing

Dan receiving the Cheque from  Paul Sussex

This brought us to the Main Awards of the Evening- 2nd X1 Player of the Year, The Gerry Munday Award for the most improved  Un-Capped PLayer, The Balconiers Player of the Year and the Final Award – the presentation of the Donation Cheque for £22,000 to Glamorgan CCC

Margaret Hughes presents Tom Cullen with The  2nd X1 Player of the Year
Malcolm Price presents Jack Murphy with The Gerry Munday Award

Peter Lynn Our Principal Sponsor presents the Player of the Year Trophy to Michael Hogan, due to Timm van der Gugten’s absence [Undergoing an Op on his shoulder]

Timm Van der Gugten-Player of the Year

John Williams & Allan Gray Present the Donation of £22,000 to The Glamorgan CCC Treasurer Mark Rhydderch – Roberts

Before the close of the evening-Andrew Hignell whose contribution is invaluable over the years -showed captions of our Team victory in the 50 over Axa Equity & Law  champions game at Canterbury in 1993.
He also paid tribute to John Williams for his contribution to the Balconiers over 46 years and illustrated the commitment  with a number of archive pictures.

The Balconiers are grateful to HuwEvansAgency for the use of all the Photographs in this publication