2015 Season Awards

The main award of Balconiers’ and Glamorgan Player of the Year award was presented to all-rounder Graham Wagg. His contribution to the team through the 2015 season with both bat and ball could not be over-looked. Wagg received his award from Balconiers’ President, Don Shepherd. Also nominated for this award were bowler Michael Hogan; for his contribution leading the Championship attack and his fearsome bowling in the one-day game with match-turning spells, and batsman Colin Ingram; his strong batting showed with over 800 first-class runs and he became the first Glamorgan batsman to hit successive one-day hundreds.

2015 saw Wagg enjoy a successful season in all formats of the game with both bat and ball scoring 1160 runs and taking 60 wickets . Of those runs, 842 were made during first-class cricket.

Wagg’s form showed across all competitions as he was the club’s leading all-rounder in the Natwest T20 Blast, making 209 runs and picking up 13 wickets. His summer highlights in the T20 were figures of 4 for 27 against Hampshire and what proved to be a match-winning innings of 53 not out against Kent. In the One-Day Cup he hit another unbeaten innings, this time of 62 and followed it up with 2 for 17 when Glamorgan played the Essex Eagles.

Wagg produced a number of match-winning performances this summer, one of which came in a County Championship match at Guildford where he scored a career-best 200 to help Glamorgan secure victory over Surrey . His four-day form saw him recognised for a second award of the evening as he was named Glamorgan’s Championship Player of the Year. His double century was the first by a number eight batsman in Championship cricket since 2000 and the first for the Welsh county since 2011.

Wagg received this award ahead of fellow all-rounder Craig Meschede and once again bowler Michael Hogan. Meschede’s arrival from Somerset didn’t disappoint as he took over 40 first-class wickets and notched up 600 runs, including two centuries as he hit his maiden Championship ton. Hogan led the attack with over 45 wickets in impressive run-restricting spells. His reliable and tight performances proved an asset for the team.

Other Awards

Royal London One-Day Cup Player of the Year – Colin Ingram

NatWest T20 PLayer of the Year – Jacques Rudolph

Second XI Player of the Year – Aneurin Donald

Young Player of the Year – David Lloyd

Academy Player of the Year – Kiran Carlson

Alan Lang Award for Most Promising Academy Player of the Year – Tom Murphy

Gerry Munday Memorial Award for Most Improved Uncapped Player of the Year –  David Lloyd


Leave a Reply